Escaping the 9-5

I wake up with this dreaded feeling in my stomach about having to spend another day at my current workplace. As I work my butt off and with each accomplishment, my higher ups still are not seemingly satisfied. Their appetite for more is insatiable. As I check off company goals, more are added to a never-ending list.

Hours become days, days become months, and months become years. How did this happen? I feel like I’m in the movie “Groundhog Day”. There’s a glitch in my video life and it’s stuck in one scene and I can’t seem to fix it.

The pay keeps me from making a change along with the fear of the unknown if I do make a leap elsewhere. How will I pay the bills? What if I can’t find another job that will pay me more? What about my children? I try different side hustles that don’t work. So I stay, same scenario, different day.

At one point, as I drove into my job’s parking lot, I broke down and just cried. I was that miserable! I didn’t want to get out of the car. I just wanted to drive away and go anywhere but there, never to return!

Being there made me depressed. I knew, deep down, I had to leave. But to do what? I had been doing this for so long & plus I was pretty darn good.

Okay, I’ll take some time off to get out of this funk I thought. One week turned into two. It hurt my soul to have to come back. I worked one more week and took off again.

I couldn’t do it anymore. I mustered up enough strength & called my boss. “I think it’s time for me to retire.” This of course was just a softer way of saying “I quit!”.

And so my journey begins…

Please share below of things you are unhappy with and what your plans are to change it if any.

Leave a comment